Welcome Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

gfxgfx Home Forum Help Search Login Register   gfxgfx
gfx gfx
gfx
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Print
Author Topic: Gnomish Vocabulary and Grammar Discussion  (Read 37483 times)
Bard Judith
Santh. Member

Gained Aura: 365

Dwarvenmistress

View Profile Homepage
« on: 15 September 2007, 20:57:06 »

I'll ask Art to make this a sticky, as we have at least two people interested in taking the Gnomish language, shaking it till it screeches, and giving it a make-over!

--------------------------------------------------

For now, Gaffin and I would like to make some proposals and discussions in this thread - I'll edit it as need be later.

------------------------------------------

Gaffin's ideas:

Here I am with a few suggestions for the Gnomish language that I jotted down. Mind you, I'm no expert in linguistics and it's quite possible that none of this is of any practicality. But, anyway...

- As you said, 's' could be replaced with 'z' to create the tougher sound that people associate with the Gnomes. So, there is no letter 's'.
- Again, I agree with removing 'c' from the language as well. For words such as "chariot", or "champion", we could use 'tz', or something similar. E.g.: "tzampion"
- I think the 'y' sound, as in, "yogurt", should be replaced with 'euh', and used only as a replacement for the 'ih' sound: "introduction", "illness".
-The long 'e' sound, as in, "elope" and "elongate", could be represented by "ii", "ie" and/or "ea", as opposed to merely a single 'e'.

That's all I have on my sheet pertaining to letter use, and of course there's lots more that could be modified. Anyway, onto syntax.